Regional Capitals Australia Announces New Board

Regional Capitals Australia (RCA) today announces Cr Samantha McIntosh, Mayor of the City of Ballarat as new Chair of the national alliance. Cr McIntosh was elected to the position at the 2018 Annual General Meeting.

Cr McIntosh joins the Board with a wealth of experience gained through her position as Mayor of the City of Ballarat and previous roles in hospitality, tourism and health support services.

Cr McIntosh said it was an honour to be elected Chair of RCA by her national colleagues.

“During the last decade representing the City of Ballarat, I have seen the benefits and challenges of sustained growth in our community,” she said.

“This experience places me in a strong position to advocate for the needs of regional cities across Australia,” said Cr McIntosh.

“I join the Board with a legacy of RCA having successfully articulated the way Australia’s regional capital cities operate as the liveable alternative to the major metropolitan cities as well as imperative service centres,” she said.

“I know our member cities provide services and industry that drive their surrounding regions – if the regional capital cities are strong, so too is the surrounding region – this is the message I will continue to advocate in this new role,” said Cr McIntosh.

Former Chair Mayor Shane Van Styn, Mayor of the City of Greater Geraldton, will remain on the Board as the Deputy Chair.

“I would like to thank Mayor Van Styn for his dedication to and leadership of RCA, making a significant contribution to the association’s success,” said Cr McIntosh.

In addition to Cr McIntosh and Mayor Van Styn’s elections, the following representatives will also take up new roles on the RCA Board:

    • Treasurer: Cr George Seymour, Mayor of Fraser Coast Regional Council
    • Secretary: Cr Col Murray, Mayor of Tamworth Regional Council
    • Western Australia Representative: Mayor Grant Henley, Mayor of the City of Busselton
    • New South Wales Representative: Cr Greg Conkey, Mayor of City of Wagga Wagga
    • Queensland Representative: Cr Margeret Strelow, Mayor of Rockhampton Regional Council

Cr McIntosh will also represent Victoria in addition to her role as Chair.

“I look forward to working in partnership with my fellow Board Members who have been elected to represent their communities from across the country in this important forum,” concluded Cr McIntosh.



Angela Scicluna, Regional Capitals Australia
P: 03 8658 5714
M: 0434 274 457

About Regional Capitals Australia

Regional Capitals Australia (RCA) is a national alliance of local government councils across the nation representing Australia’s regional cities. RCA’s mission is to provide a recognised platform to champion the strategic importance and sustainable development of regional capitals around the nation. To learn more about our work visit

Available for Interview
Cr Samantha McIntosh – Chair, Regional Capitals Australia