

MEETING MINUTES

RCA Annual General Meeting

Date: Tuesday 30 November 2021

Time: 4:00pm-5:30pm AEDT

1:00pm-2:30pm AWST

3:30pm-5:00pm ACST

Location: Teleconference

Attendees:

- Cr Kevin Mack Mayor, Albury City Council (Outgoing Chair)
- Mr Frank Zaknich GM, Albury City Council
- Cr Matt Paterson Mayor, Alice Springs Town Council
- Robert Jennings CEO, Alice Springs Town Council
- Cr Darriea Turley AM Mayor, Broken Hill City Council
- Mr Jay Nankivell GM, Broken Hill City Council
- Cr Grant Henley Mayor, City of Busselton
- Mr Mike Archer CEO, City of Busselton
- Mayor Shane Van Styn Mayor, City of Greater Geraldton
- Mr Ross McKim CEO, City of Greater Geraldton
- Cr John Bowler Mayor, City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
- Mr John Walker CEO, City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
- Cr Peter Long Mayor, City of Karratha
- Mr Chris Adams CEO, City of Karratha
- Cr Denise Knight Mayor, Coffs Harbour City Council
- Mr Steve McGrath GM, Coffs Harbour City Council
- Cr George Seymour Mayor, Fraser Coast Regional Council
- Mr Ken Diehm CEO, Fraser Coast Regional Council
- Cr Stephanie Asher Mayor, Greater Geelong City Council
- Mr Martin Cutter CEO, Greater Geelong City Council
- Cr John Dal Broi Mayor, Griffith City Council
- Mr Brett Stonestreet GM, Griffith City Council
- Cr Sharon Gibson Mayor, Latrobe City Council
- Mr Steven Piasente Latrobe City Council
- Cr Greg Williamson Mayor, Mackay Regional Council
- Mr Michael Thomson CEO, Mackay Regional Council
- Clr Col Murray Mayor, Tamworth Regional Council
- Mr Paul Bennett GM, Tamworth Regional Council
- Cr Peter Carter Mayor, Town of Port Hedland
- Mr Carl Askew GM, Town of Port Hedland



- Cr Greg Conkey Mayor, Wagga Wagga City Council
- Mr Peter Thompson GM, Wagga Wagga City Council
- Cr Vicki Jellie Mayor, Warrnambool City Council
- Mr Peter Schneider GM, Warrnambool City Council
- Cr Daniel Moloney Mayor, City of Ballarat
- Mr Evan King CEO, City of Ballarat
- Ms Rachael Sweeney RCA Project Manager and Secretariat (Managing Director, Collective Position)
- Ms Kate Behm RCA Secretariat

Apologies

- Cr Harold Tracey Mayor, Shire of Broome
- Mr Sam Mastrolembo CEO, Shire of Broome

The meeting was declared open at 4:02pm AEDT.

1. WELCOME

RCA Chair, Cr Kevin Mack – Mayor, Albury City Council welcomed RCA members to the Annual General Meeting and noted the apologies.

RCA Chair, Cr Kevin Mack – Mayor, Albury City Council, confirmed that quorum had been reached for the Annual General Meeting.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MEETING MINUTES

Ms Rachael Sweeney – RCA Secretariat, tabled the draft minutes from the 2020 AGM (held on 17 November 2020). Members received and noted the minutes.

Mayor Shane Van Styn – Mayor, City of Greater Geraldton Council moved the minutes as a true and accurate record of the meeting. Cr Kevin Mack – Mayor, Albury City Council seconded.

3. ANNUAL STATEMENT AND AUDIT

RCA Secretariat, Rachael Sweeney tabled the RCA Annual Statement and Financial Audit Report 2020-21 for endorsement and moved the Auditor for the next financial year be Mid-West Financial.

Mr Robert Jennings – CEO, Alice Springs Town Council moved the Audit Report and Mr Mike Archer – CEO, City of Busselton seconded.

4. CONFIRMATION OF MEMBERSHIP LIST

RCA Secretariat, Rachael Sweeney tabled the RCA 2020/21 Membership List (as at 30 June). Members received and noted the membership list.

Cr Grant Henley – Mayor, City of Busselton moved that the membership list and RCA Chair Cr Kevin Mack – Mayor, Albury City Council seconded.



5. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

RCA Chair Cr Kevin Mack – Mayor, Albury City Council, moved to appoint Secretariat, Rachael Sweeney as Returning Officer for the election of Board Members.

Members agreed that Rachael Sweeney be appointed as Returning Officer.

Mayor Shane Van Styn – Mayor, City of Greater Geraldton Council moved the appointment of the Returning Officer be adopted. Cr Daniel Moloney – Mayor, City of Ballarat seconded.

6. BOARD NOMINATIONS

RCA Chair Mayor Shane Van Styn – Mayor, City of Greater Geraldton Council declared all board positions vacant and called for RCA Board Nominations.

The following nominations were received:

- Chair and Victorian Representative: Cr Daniel Moloney Mayor, City of Ballarat
- Deputy Chair and Western Australia Representative: Mayor Grant Henley Mayor, City of Busselton
- Treasurer: Mayor Shane Van Styn Mayor, City of Greater Geraldton
- Secretary: Cr Kylie King Mayor, Albury City Council
- Western Australia Representative: Mayor Shane Van Styn Mayor, City of Greater Geraldton
- New South Wales Representative: Cr Doug Curran Mayor, Griffith City Council
- Queensland Representative: Cr George Seymour Mayor, Fraser Coast Regional Council
- Northern Territory Representative: Mayor Matt Paterson Mayor, Alice Springs Town Council

7. RCA BOARD MEMBERS ANNOUNCED

RCA Secretariat, Rachael Sweeney announced the new RCA Board Members. All representatives were elected to the Board as per the above listed positions.

8. RCA MEMBER MOTIONS

RCA Chair, Cr Daniel Moloney – Mayor, City of Ballarat called for member motions.

No motions were moved.

9. GENERAL BUSINESS

RCA Chair, Cr Daniel Moloney – Mayor, City of Ballarat called for General Business items.

No items were raised. The meeting was closed at 5:30pm AEST.