RCA Announces New Board

Regional Capitals Australia (RCA) warmly welcomes our new Chair and Executive Board for 2023, following the recent Annual General meeting.

Cr Kylie King Mayor of Albury City Council (pictured) will take up the reins as Chair, with Mayor Jaysen de San Miguel from the City of Bunbury elected as Deputy Chair.

In her first statement as Chair Cr Kylie King said: “RCA plays an important role advocating on behalf of the 8 million people who rely on regional capitals, to ensure their needs are appropriately recognised in government policy.”

“As Chair, I will be working on a strong policy agenda that focuses on regional growth, economic resilience and continues to increase our liveability.”

Cr King takes over from Cr Daniel Moloney who chaired RCA over the past 12 months.

Cr King credited Cr Moloney for his leadership saying “Cr Moloney’s advocacy for regional Australia and steadfast leadership during a federal election year is to be commended.” 

“It is an honour to be taking up the baton as Chair for 2023, and I look forward to championing the interests of our regional cities and the people who live there” Cr King said.

Additional Executive positions confirmed at the AGM were as follows:

  •  Secretary – Cr Mathew Dickerson, Mayor of Dubbo Regional Council; and
  • Treasurer – Mayor, Shane Van Styn, Mayor City of Greater Geraldton.

 State Representative Board positions confirmed were:

  •  New South Wales Regional Representative – Cr Doug Curran, Mayor of Griffith City Council;
  • Victorian Regional Representative – Cr Kellie O’Callaghan, Mayor of Latrobe City Council;
  • Western Australia Regional Representative – Cr Grant Henley, Mayor of the City of Busselton;
  • Queensland Regional Representative – Cr George Seymour, Mayor of Fraser Coast Regional Council; and
  • Northern Territory Regional Representative – Mayor Matt Paterson, Alice Springs Town Council.